2.06 – American Beauty/American Psycho

Every Sunday and Wednesday, Beacan disappears from the house claiming to be going out with Bianca. But Bianca works mornings as a nurse. Instead he heads to a house a few blocks down where Suraya meets him at the door with a kiss on the cheek and a wave good bye.

Inside, little Elrich waits for his play dates with daddy while mom is at work. As soon as the door opens, the little boy leaves his toys on the ground to crawl over to his dad.

“Hey kiddo.” Becan whispers, kissing his son on the head. “Wow, you’re getting so big! How about we give walking a try today? Mom says you’re getting really close!”

He’d always known Suraya’s baby was his. She’d only ever slept with him, in her words, but when Bay confronted him about it he chickened out on telling his family the truth. Elrich wasn’t a secret, not really, its just that no one in his family had asked about him yet.

Still, Beacan wanted to be a father to the boy. So every time Suraya had to head out for her part time job, Beacan would stop by to babysit and spend some quality time with his son.

“That’s it, little man! Wow, your momma is goanna be so proud of you!”

“Why would his fucking mother be proud he can walk? Everyone learns how to fucking walk by the time they become children! It doesn’t fucking matter what you teach them as babies!”

Its days like this that Beacan is happy no one can hear the red-headed monster in his head but him. “Don’t look now, little man, but I think Kaia is getting cranky.”

“I am not cranky, you son of a bit-“

“Mhhm. Very cranky. And that’s why we take naps. So that sweet little boys like you don’t turn into cranky old women like her.”

“I fucking hate you.”

Hours pass by, and Kaia gets more and more annoying and impatient. But Beacan can always top her. “Oh no, Elrich! Kaia’s angry at us! We must flee before she destroys us!”

Elrich laughs as Beacan attacks his stomach with tickles. “AAAAAAH! RAWR! Oh no, Kaia, oh no! Don’t hurt us! Oh but wait! Silly Kaia forgets that she can’t actually hurt anyone when she’s a figment of your daddy’s imagination!”

Kaia can only sigh in annoyance. “I’m not a fucking imaginary friend, you retard…” But he never listens. They’ve been doing this song and dance for months, and he’s only more convinced than ever that she’s just the long lasting results of the last set of drugs he got from Bianca.

Finally, Suraya gets home and its time for them to leave.

“SEE YOU NEXT WEEK, BRAT. SNOT NOSED LITTLE FUCKER! YEAH. YOU BETTER CRY. YOUR TEARS WILL FEED ME FOR YEARS TO COME!”

Its the little things that make Kaia happy. And its those moments where she doesn’t realize how ridiculous she’s being that add an extra spring into Beacan’s step. Maybe she’s the embodiment of his inner sadist. God he’s ridiculous. Life is just grand.

They’ve walked a block before she notices the grin on his face. “So what’s got you in such a chipper mood today?”

“You.”

“Me?”

“And life in general.”

“How is life?”

“Grand.”

“More exposition would be helpful, thanks.”

“I have an amazing girlfriend who loves me, my mom is finally getting normal, my brother is living the life he deserves, my sister is in the career she wants, the sun is out, I have a gorgeous son, and my imaginary friend is fucking hilarious. Why shouldn’t I be smiling?”

“Cause you’re a loser!” She laughs, rolling her eyes. “Your girlfriend has two guys on the side and deals drugs for a living, your birth mom is battier than the bat cave, your brother is a joke, your sister has major issues, its three weeks til Winter begins, your son probably thinks you’re some glorified babysitter for all the amount of time you spend with him, and you think the goddess of war and chaos is here for your amusement. Pathetic. I can’t wait for you to die.”

It’s been a few weeks since the wedding, and since she last saw Gator. Word on the street is he went in land with his dad for a business trip and hasn’t been back since. She hope he returns soon, though.

The nausea started after a week. Then came the aches and pains, the enhanced smell, the sensation of being bloated. By the time she missed her second period in a row, she knew what was going on. The pregnancy test was just the final nail in the coffin.

Bayrose is almost five months along before Nichola calls, telling her Gator’s back in town. He agrees to meet her at the park, and as soon as she’s close enough she just blurts out the news.

“I’m pregnant! It’s yours. Woulda told you earlier, but you went poof.”

Gator’s face explodes into a giant grin. “R-really? That’s fantastic news! I’m so happy!”

Bayrose smiles awkwardly, almost off put by his outburst. “Glad to see you so happy. I was kinda worried I’d have to raise him all alone. Where were you anyway?”

“I uh…” Gator sighs, looking down at his feet. “I was getting married. My dad arranged for me to marry this female werewolf from another family for some political power bullshit. I don’t understand this pack stuff, but I still have to obey my dad. I’m sure your coven is similar.”

“My coven consists of my mother and my brothers, and we’re free to be with whomever we want, or no one at all. I can’t believe you’re married! So much for loving me for ever. At least I didn’t have my heart set on you. God! What a fiasco that would have been!”

“Bay, I never lied. I do love you, and I want to be with you and our baby. Just… let me talk to my dad. And in the mean time, I promise I’ll play child support, give you anything you want. I just can’t claim our baby as mine just yet.”

“Save it!” Bayrose growls, holding her hands up. “I wish you and your wife all the best, but you are never fucking coming near me or my baby. Either you’re there all the time or none of the time. I’m not going to fucking get involved in your family’s political bullshit. Ugh!”

Most men would probably fight for their child, but Gator’s always been a bit of a wimp. Bayrose figures she won’t need to worry about him unless her kid wants to meet him someday.

“Hey!” Gem greets, seeing Bayrose while out on his walk. “Sophie told me the news. Congratulations! I’m glad things are working out well for you and Gator.”

“Work out well? Gem, Gator’s married. He just found out I was pregnant today and then pulled some ‘I was in an arranged marriage. I still love you. Wait for me’ bullshit and I told him to fuck off. Yeah, my life is fantastic right now! I swear this is some kind of cosmic karma for breaking up with you or something.”

“I guess karma is getting back at me for the same then. I tried dating Fawn for a while and things were okay until her parents told her she was adopted and thats why she didn’t have wings. She took it kind of tough and has just gone off the deep end. I told her it was over, but now she’s threatening to move to the city with our daughter when she’s born just to get away from all this weirdness.”

“If I wasn’t such a great person, I’d tell you I told you so.”

“It’s fine.”

Bay sees red at the idea of Fawn taking away Gem’s child, so much so that it doesn’t even register in her brain that Gem would have to sleep with Fawn to make said child. “I can’t believe she’d have the balls to try and separate you two! Can she legally do that?”

“Mother’s always get custody of their children unless the father can prove he can provide a more nurturing and balanced family environment.” Gem sighs, reciting the law almost perfectly. He’s been studying it for months.

Bay’s back starts to hurt so they sit down for a bit, just watching the stars.

She breaks the silence first. “Do you remember when we used to do this all the time?”

“You mean back before we broke up? Yeah. It was nice.”

“I know this probably isn’t the best time, and it may just be the hormones talking. But do you think we can give us a shot again?”

Her heart almost leaps out of her mouth from nervousness as Gem considers her words.

“I think it would be best if we take things slow, but yeah. I’d like to try again.”

 
So I was re-reading some of my old stuff, including Gem’s generation and I noticed that in his generation summary I wrote that Fawn finding out the truth about her heritage would either set her free or break her. In Gem’s generation, it set her free and they were able to be together. In Bay’s generation, Fawn breaks. 
 
Kaia > Neptune. She’s the cooler god. And yes, she is a god, not a figment of Beacan’s imagination. You’ll figure out her end game soon enough. I like her. : )
Leave a Reply

