Extras 01 – Photograph

So since generation 3 (and potentially the next generations as well) will be just as much about the entourage characters as the heirs, I’ve decided to do a series of super short extra chapters to flesh out the side characters. They’re for my amusement as much as yours.

Most of these will be sparked from a song that makes me think of certain characters. This one is definitely true of that. Photograph by Ed Sheeran for those who enjoy listening to music while reading.

Without further ado… I give you Extras 01 – Photograph. A Blaine/Sophie short.

“I’d known Zinna since we were both kids. Before that, really. I don’t know why I was so nervous, but asking her out to that park that Love Day was the most excruciatingly terrifying event of my life up to that point.

“Of course that moment was soon eclipsed by the far more terrifying moment of actually asking her to the dance. I was so sure she’d say no, or say she already had a date or something along those lines.

“Instead, she said yes. Apparently she’d been waiting for me to ask her. With my mom… out of town at the time, we’d been spending a lot more time together, and I guess at some point in that time frame, she’d fallen for me like I’d fallen for her.

“The park DJ picked that moment to switch to a slow song and Zinna grabbed me for a dance together, to practice. She was always like that. Strong willed, confident… sometimes I miss the girl she was.”

“Did you kiss her?” His companion asks.

”I did.” He responds, savouring the memory of his first kiss.

“How was it?”

He decides to lie: “Nothing special.”

“I really thought I was going to marry her. That we’d live in Monte Vista. Maybe have a few kids and grandkids. Grow old and grey together. I guess I was a bit of a romantic.”

“You’re still a romantic.” Sophie Rodgers-Van Gould points out. “It’s been years since Zinna took off on you and yet you’re still not over her.”

They sit in her father’s indoor pool. He’d come over to fix her radio, but by the time he’d finished, the rain had started pouring. Sophie offered him a seat until the rain let up, and he accepted. That had been an hour ago.

She was glad he was still around. With her parents in Brickton for Tristan’s graduation, the house was empty and lonely. She hated it.

 “Zinna was my first love. It’s not like getting over her will be easy. Plus its not like I have time to start anything serious with anybody. Work is kicking my ass.”

She gets a brilliant idea.

“What you need is a good fuck. A rebound, if you will. Some no strings attached fun doesn’t take more than a night, and you’ll finally be able to get her off your mind.”

“I really don’t think-“

“I VOLUNTEER AS TRIBUTE.” She interrupts loudly, jumping from her seat.

He stays silent for a moment, hoping she’ll admit to joking. But no such luck.

“You can’t be serious. Sophie, you’re Bay’s best friend.”

“Well then we just won’t tell her, now will we.”

He shakes his head. “You’re being ridiculous.”

He gets up to leave, but Sophie stops him. “Come on. What’s the problem?

“You mean besides your father, brother and my sister coming after me to kill me for defiling you?”

“Oh please. I can handle them. And I can keep a fling from them easily. I’ve done it before.”

“Okay. Then, what about if this becomes more than a fling? I must warn you, I’m very easy to fall in love with.”

“Perhaps, but I’m a fairy. And fairies can’t fall in love. Everybody knows that.”

“And what if I fall in love with you?”

Sophie laughs at the idea. “You won’t. I’m a huge pain in the ass.”

He smiles. “Well then, I guess you’ve convinced me.”

Loving can hurt

Loving can hurt sometimes

But it’s the only thing that I know

When it gets hard, you know it can get hard sometimes

It is the only thing that makes us feel alive.

We keep this love in a photograph

We made these memories for ourselves

Where our eyes are never closing

Hearts are never broken

And time’s forever frozen still.

Leave a Reply

